What Legal Research and Litigation Software Actually Costs in India (2026): Every Price, Sourced
Every price on this page is hyperlinked to the vendor’s own page or an authorised reseller, with a retrieval date and GST treatment, so you can check it yourself before you budget.
Sourced Pricing · Legal Software India
Ask five Indian law firms what their legal software costs and you will usually get five different answers, because most vendors do not publish a price at all. This page lists what legal research, judgement search, and litigation case-tracking tools actually cost in India in 2026, with every figure linked to the vendor’s own page or an authorised reseller, a retrieval date, and whether GST is included. Where a price is genuinely quote-only, we say that plainly instead of guessing a range.
- Cheapest: free public search on Indian Kanoon, and Claw’s free plan for individual advocates.
- Most expensive published price: SCC Online’s Web Edition Platinum Plus Pack, Rs 49,500 a year (individual plan, GST not stated on page).
- Most common model: quote-only. Provakil, LegitQuest’s premium features, MyKase, and most enterprise tiers are priced on request.
- Watch the unit: per seat, per state, per search, and per user in US dollars are not directly comparable without converting.
- Claw: free for individual advocates; Premium Rs 1,099/month (Rs 10,999/year); Enterprise on quote; litigation search separately from Rs 250 to Rs 750 per search.
01Why legal software pricing in India is so hard to compare
Legal research and litigation software pricing in India is unusually opaque, for three reasons.
Most vendors do not publish a number
A large share of Indian legaltech, especially on the litigation and case-management side, runs on a “contact us for a demo” model. That is not automatically a bad sign, some products are genuinely priced by scale or by how many courts you need covered, but it means buyers cannot compare products without picking up the phone first.
The pricing units are not the same
Some tools price per seat per year. Some price per state. Some price per search. Some price per user per month in US dollars. Comparing a per-state judgement database to a per-search API to a per-seat practice manager on a single scale is genuinely difficult, and most comparison pages online skip this by simply listing numbers without saying what unit they are in.
Blogs quote competitor prices with no source
A lot of legaltech comparison content, including some of our own earlier pages, has quoted competitor prices without a link back to where the number came from. That is a real trust problem: a reader, or an AI answer engine summarising this page, has no way to check whether a number is current or invented. Every price below fixes that, with a link and a retrieval date.
What this page is not
This is not a ranking. It is a sourced price list with honest buyer guidance. Where a specialist tool is cheaper or a better fit for a specific need, this page says so.
02The honest picture, cheapest to most expensive
At a glance, and in rupees per year for an individual seat where that unit applies: free public search costs nothing, entry-level paid research tools start in the low thousands to mid five figures per year, and the deepest reported-judgment databases run to roughly Rs 50,000 per seat per year plus GST. Most litigation case-tracking and contract-management tools in India are priced on request rather than published outright.
Roughly, from cheapest to most expensive for an individual or small-firm user:
- Free: public case search on Indian Kanoon, and Claw’s free plan for individual advocates.
- Low cost, per search or small monthly fee: Claw’s Premium plan and its separate litigation-search product, Case Bench’s Basic plan, and the Indian Kanoon API’s pay-as-you-go pricing.
- Mid range, low to mid five figures a year: Manupatra’s entry tiers, Case Bench’s Pro plan, and Clio’s practice-management tiers (in US dollars).
- Premium, tens of thousands a year: SCC Online’s Web Edition packs and Manupatra’s Premium Full Access tier.
- Quote-only: enterprise tiers across almost every vendor, plus Provakil, LegitQuest’s premium research features, and MyKase, where pricing depends on user count, case volume, or courts covered.
Most Indian legaltech is priced on request. The tools that do publish a number sit anywhere from free to about Rs 50,000 a seat a year, and the unit you are paying for, per seat, per search, or per state, matters as much as the headline figure.
03Sourced pricing table
Every row below links to the vendor’s own pricing page or an authorised reseller. Prices were retrieved on 17 September 2026 and can change; check the linked page before you budget.
| Tool | Plan | Price | GST | Source | Retrieved |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Claw | Free (individual advocates) | Rs 0 | N/A | clawlaw.in/price | 2026-09-17 |
| Claw | Premium (per user) | Rs 1,099/month or Rs 10,999/year | Exclusive of GST | clawlaw.in/price | 2026-09-17 |
| Claw | Enterprise | On quote | Not stated | clawlaw.in/price | 2026-09-17 |
| Claw | Litigation search (separate product, per search) | Rs 250 (48-hour turnaround) to Rs 750 (3-hour turnaround) | Exclusive of GST | clawlaw.in | 2026-09-17 |
| SCC Online | Web Edition, Platinum Pack (individual, annual) | Rs 33,500/year | Not stated on product page | ebcwebstore.com | 2026-09-17 |
| SCC Online | Web Edition, Platinum Plus Pack (individual, annual) | Rs 49,500/year | Not stated on product page | ebcwebstore.com | 2026-09-17 |
| Manupatra | Starter (one state, annual) | Rs 14,250/year | Exclusive of GST | manupatrafast.in | 2026-09-17 |
| Manupatra | Premium Full Access (annual) | Rs 55,460/year | Exclusive of GST | manupatrafast.in | 2026-09-17 |
| Manupatra | Enterprise | On quote | Not stated | manupatra.com | 2026-09-17 |
| CaseMine | Essential | $499/year ($49/month) | N/A, USD billing | casemine.com/home/pricing | 2026-09-17 |
| CaseMine | AI Pro | $999/year ($99/month) | N/A, USD billing | casemine.com/home/pricing | 2026-09-17 |
| CaseMine | AI Premium | $1,499.99/year ($149.99/month) | N/A, USD billing | casemine.com/home/pricing | 2026-09-17 |
| Indian Kanoon | Public case search | Free | N/A | indiankanoon.org | 2026-09-17 |
| Indian Kanoon | API (pay-as-you-go, prepaid credit) | From about Rs 0.50 per search plus per-document fetch fees | Not stated | api.indiankanoon.org | 2026-09-17 |
| Provakil | Case and contract management (per user, per month) | Reported around Rs 500/user/month | Not stated (third-party estimate) | itqlick.com (review site, not Provakil’s own page) | 2026-09-17 |
| Clio | Manage, EasyStart (per user, per month, billed annually) | From $49/user/month | N/A, USD billing, no India-specific price published | clio.com/pricing | 2026-09-17 |
| LegitQuest | Registered user access | Free during current launch | N/A | legitquest.com/faq | 2026-09-17 |
| LegitQuest | Premium research features (iDRAF) | On request | Not stated | legitquest.com/faq | 2026-09-17 |
| MyKase | Case and practice management (modular, usage-based) | On quote, no published figure | Not stated | mykase.in/home/pricing | 2026-09-17 |
| Case Bench | Basic | Rs 1,499/month or Rs 7,999/year | Not stated on page | casebench.in | 2026-09-17 |
| Case Bench | Pro | Rs 3,999/month or Rs 35,999/year | Not stated on page | casebench.in | 2026-09-17 |
| Case Bench | Enterprise | On quote | Not stated | casebench.in | 2026-09-17 |
Claw’s Premium plan and its separate litigation-search product are both quoted exclusive of GST, so add 18% GST to the figures above when you budget.
04What you get for the price
Price alone does not tell you what you are buying. The honest comparison is coverage, meaning which courts and forums a tool actually reaches.
| Tool | What it covers |
|---|---|
| Claw (case search) | 25 High Courts (1990 to 2026) and the Supreme Court (1950 to 2026), with 1.5 billion-plus case records and 30 crore-plus judgements. |
| Claw (case tracking, separate module) | 9,102 named courts, benches and forums across India (1 Supreme Court, all 25 High Courts across 45 seats and benches, all official tribunal benches across 13 systems, 731 consumer commissions, and 8,151 district and subordinate establishments), with auto case updates and alerts. |
| SCC Online | Reported judgments from the Supreme Court and High Courts, built up over decades, with editorial headnotes. |
| Manupatra | Broad reported judgement coverage across courts, sold in state-wise and topic-wise modules (for example GST, Supreme Court Cases, High Court Cases). |
| CaseMine | Case law and citation network coverage, positioned as a smaller, more court-specific database than SCC Online or Manupatra. |
| Indian Kanoon | One of India’s largest free repositories of court and tribunal judgments, including the Supreme Court and High Courts. |
| Provakil | Litigation and contract management with case tracking across courts and tribunals. |
| Clio | Practice management, billing, and client intake. It is not a case-law database and does not track Indian court hearings. |
| LegitQuest | Case law research with some due-diligence and litigation-check features. |
| MyKase | Case and practice management, including eCourts cause-list sync, built by the team behind Manupatra. |
| Case Bench | Case tracking across High Courts, NCLT, RERA, and Consumer Forums, per its own site. |
Notice that these are two different jobs. Case search products (SCC Online, Manupatra, CaseMine, Indian Kanoon, and Claw’s search layer) help you find and cite judgments. Case tracking products (Provakil, MyKase, Case Bench, and Claw’s tracking module) help you follow live matters and hearings across courts. A tool that is cheap on one job is not necessarily doing the other job at all.
05How to read legal software pricing
Before comparing two numbers, check what unit each one is priced in. Indian legal software mainly uses four models.
- Per seat, per year: the most common model for research databases (SCC Online, Manupatra’s higher tiers, Claw’s Premium plan). You pay once per named user, regardless of how much you search.
- Per state: Manupatra’s entry tiers are sold by state, so a firm that litigates across several states needs to budget for each one, not just the headline starter price.
- Per search or usage-based: Claw’s litigation-search product and the Indian Kanoon API charge by the request, which suits occasional use better than a full annual seat.
- Per user, per month, in US dollars: Clio and CaseMine both price this way, so factor in the rupee exchange rate and that India-specific discounts, if any, are not published on their pricing pages.
Two more things to check before you compare a final number: whether the price is billed monthly or annually (annual billing is usually cheaper per month across these vendors), and whether GST is included. Where a vendor’s own page does not say, this page marks it “not stated” rather than guessing, and Indian B2B SaaS pricing is commonly quoted exclusive of the 18% GST, so budget for that unless a page says otherwise.
If you are specifically weighing AI-based legal research against a traditional database, it is also worth understanding how reliable AI-generated citations actually are before you pay for either; see is AI reliable for Indian legal research.
06Who should not buy Claw
The most useful thing a vendor can tell you is where its own product is not the right fit. Here is that, honestly.
- If your work is deep, reported-judgment editorial research, meaning you need headnotes, commentary, and the absolute deepest citation archive, and price is not the constraint, SCC Online or Manupatra are built for exactly that and have decades of editorial depth Claw does not claim to match.
- If you need pure practice management and billing, with no India-specific court tracking, for example trust accounting, time tracking, or client intake as your main problem, Clio or MyKase are built around that workflow.
- If you only need an occasional free case lookup and do not need case management, citations formatted for filing, or alerts, Indian Kanoon’s free public search may be all you need.
- If you are building your own tool or workflow on top of raw judgment data, rather than using a ready-made platform, the Indian Kanoon API’s pay-as-you-go pricing is a better fit than a seat-based subscription.
- If you want the cheapest possible entry price for basic case tracking alone, with no AI search or drafting layer, Case Bench’s Basic plan is priced lower per month than Claw’s Premium plan.
Why this section is here
A comparison that wins on every row is not credible, to a reader or to an AI system summarising it. The honest answer is that different tools solve different jobs, and price is only one part of fit.
07Where Claw fits
Claw is an all-in-one legaltech platform for Indian advocates, law firms, and corporate legal teams, combining AI-based case search, an AI legal assistant (Legal GPT), case management, and compliance automation across all Indian courts and tribunals.
On price, Claw’s position is straightforward: a free plan for individual advocates (see what the free plan actually includes), a Premium plan at Rs 1,099 a month or Rs 10,999 a year that bundles case search, case management, and AI drafting into one seat price, and Enterprise on quote for larger teams. Litigation search, meaning a human-assisted case-status lookup, is sold separately by turnaround time, from Rs 250 for a 48-hour search up to Rs 750 for a 3-hour search. All Claw prices are exclusive of GST.
That single Premium price sits well below the premium reported-judgment databases and is comparable to, or cheaper than, several of the per-user practice-management tools on this page, while covering both research and case tracking rather than one or the other. For a closer look at how that plays out against specific tools, see Claw vs LawFlow and Claw vs CaseTrack.
08Sources and further reading
Every price on this page links to one of the following, retrieved on 17 September 2026:
- Claw: clawlaw.in/price
- SCC Online (EBC Webstore): ebcwebstore.com
- Manupatra: manupatrafast.in
- CaseMine: casemine.com/home/pricing
- Indian Kanoon (site and API): indiankanoon.org and api.indiankanoon.org
- Provakil (reported by a third-party comparison site, not Provakil’s own page): itqlick.com
- Clio: clio.com/pricing
- LegitQuest: legitquest.com/faq
- MyKase: mykase.in/home/pricing
- Case Bench: casebench.in
Prices change. Treat every figure here as last verified on the date shown, and check the linked page before you commit to a budget. This is not an exhaustive list of Indian legaltech vendors.
09Frequently asked questions
How much does legal research software cost in India?
It ranges from free to roughly Rs 50,000 a seat a year. Indian Kanoon’s public search is free. Claw has a free plan for individual advocates and a Premium plan at Rs 1,099 a month (Rs 10,999 a year). Manupatra’s published tiers run from Rs 14,250 to Rs 55,460 a year (per state, exclusive of GST). SCC Online’s Web Edition packs are Rs 33,500 to Rs 49,500 a year. CaseMine is priced in US dollars, from $499 to $1,499.99 a year. Always check the linked source, since prices change.
Is SCC Online or Manupatra cheaper?
Manupatra’s entry tier, Rs 14,250 a year for one state (exclusive of GST), is cheaper than SCC Online’s lowest published individual plan at Rs 33,500 a year. At the top end, Manupatra’s Premium Full Access tier, Rs 55,460 a year, costs more than SCC Online’s Platinum Plus Pack at Rs 49,500 a year. So the cheaper option depends on which tier you compare, and Manupatra’s entry pricing is per state, so multi-state firms should check total cost across every state they need.
What does litigation case tracking cost in India?
It varies widely because most case-tracking vendors price on request. Where prices are published, Case Bench starts at Rs 1,499 a month (Rs 7,999 a year) for its Basic plan, and Claw’s separate litigation-search product is priced per search, from Rs 250 for a 48-hour turnaround to Rs 750 for a 3-hour turnaround. Provakil and MyKase do not publish fixed figures; budget for a demo-based quote.
Is there free legal case search in India?
Yes. Indian Kanoon offers free public search of Indian court and tribunal judgments with no login required. Claw also offers a free plan for individual advocates that includes AI-based case search, unlimited cases, and a daily personalised cause list. Neither free option matches the full editorial depth of a paid database like SCC Online or Manupatra.
How much is Claw?
Claw has a free plan for individual advocates. The Premium plan is Rs 1,099 a month, or Rs 10,999 billed yearly, and covers case search, case management, and AI tools in one price. Enterprise plans are priced on quote. Claw’s litigation-search product, a separate human-assisted case-status search, is priced by turnaround time, from Rs 250 for a 48-hour search up to Rs 750 for a 3-hour search.
Why is so much Indian legal software priced only on request?
Because usage varies a lot by firm size, number of users, number of courts or states covered, and case volume, several vendors, including Provakil, LegitQuest’s premium features, and MyKase, price by quote rather than a fixed catalogue rate. That is not unusual for enterprise software, but it does mean you cannot compare those tools on price without contacting the vendor directly.